Eclipse

Many folks at work ask me which Java IDE I prefer, I usually answer Eclipse, which is the IDE I’m hoping we migrate to. Personally, I’ve never been an IDE fan. I much prefer Ant scripts, a good editor like Vim, and a compiler such as Jikes.

Enough rambling, Eclipse is really a great IDE. The SWT makes it fast and look like other native applications which is one of my biggest problems with Swing. It’s slow and doesn’t behave like Windows or Linux. Eclipse has a large list of availble plugins

Here are a few of my favorites:

Lomboz J2EE
Omondo UML
VI plugin

There’s also an effort to port the SWT to work with OS/2 and get Eclipse running, check out http://eclipseos2.netlabs.org/.

One thought on “Eclipse

Leave a Reply

