Customization without modifying source

It’s late and I can’t sleep. So I figured I’d make an entry. I’m amazed at how “customizable” Roller is without touching the code or having Admin privileges. I’m able to add new pages, graphics, change the layout of my start page, etc. I argue with my coworkers about the need to make all of our code public, ok it’s not all public but it is protected and every class has a derived class that is modifiable, so it’s essentially public.

My philosophy to building a customizable application is to put as much flexibility into the User Interface to not require changing code. Roller is an example of being able to change many features of the application without the changing code.

Leave a Reply

