Linux

A few months ago I lost one of my 18GB IBM 15,000 RPM SCSI drives which had my Red Hat Linux 9 installation. I got a replacement but have been too lazy to reinstall Linux. I’m currently using the drive striped with the other IBM SCSI drive to create a 34GB RAID 0 drive in Windows XP. It’s much faster than a single drive alone, but I’m afraid of the drive dieing again so I don’t store anything important on it.

But after a few months, I think I will reinstall Linux on it. Don’t know if I should stick with Red Hat or go with Suse. I’ve contemplated putting Suse on one drive and Red Hat on the other and trying both out.

Update: I guess this answer my question as to which Linux to use.

As previously communicated, Red Hat will discontinue maintenance and
errata support for Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 as of December
31, 2003. Red Hat will discontinue maintenance and errata support for
Red Hat Linux 9 as of April 30, 2004. Red Hat does not plan to release
another product in the Red Hat Linux line.

Email from Red Hat Network about upgrading to Enterprice Linux.

Leave a Reply

