Lomboz, Eclipse, and Tomcat…

I started my J2EE project at home tonight and it’s taking a lot longer than I thought. Having worked with proprietary servers for the past three years has caused my J2EE skills to become extremely rusty. Ok who am I kidding, how about non-existent.

I installed the Lomboz v2.1.1 with Eclipse 3.0 and Tomcat 5.0.14 beta. Lomboz out of the box has support for many servers including JBoss, BEA Weblogic, and Tomcat. But it doesn’t have a server definition for Tomcat 5.0 yet. So I attempted to create one. I copied the 4.1.0 entry, renamed it 5.0 and changed the directory locations. After many attempts, I couldn’t get the start/stop feature to work from the Lomboz J2EE view. My Tomcat always has the little red exclamation icon..

I finally gave up and used the build.xml in the Lomboz projects to deploy/undeploy using the Ant plugin and the Sysdeo Tomcat plugin to start and stop Tomcat.

By the time I finally got this to work, it was 1:00 AM and I desperately needed to go to bed. Hopefully now that I have the setup usable, I can get a bit further with the code. If anyone has a better solution let me know.

Leave a Reply

