Gnome Terminal Size

I was trying to figure out how to change the default size of my Gnome Terminal. There isn’t any GUI to change this option (been spoiled by Windoze). After doing some Google searches I found the word I was looking for geometry. Then the ole memory kicked in and I remembered that you can pass in the size to any X Windows application. So I gave it a shot:

gnome-terminal --geometry 80x60

VIOLA! Got what I needed.

3 responses to “Gnome Terminal Size

  1. Smart ass comments aren’t really required. This post was made in 2003. You can’t spread the word of Linux by being a smart ass. Something more like “in the future try man to find out information about a given program” vs your snarky comment.

Leave a Reply

