OS/2's Workplace Shell resurrected in GNOME 2.6

After reading Sayamindu Dasgupta article Diving Into GNOME 2.5 – A Preview of GNOME 2.6, I noticed many of the features of Nautilus in GNOME 2.6 are a lot like the Workplace Shell (WPS) in OS/2 Warp or eComStation. The object-oriented nature is what made the Workplace Shell so powerful and the one reason I kept my OS/2 Warp 4 running for almost 8 years (I retired it back in early 2003 for Red Hat Linux). This is feature I’ve been waiting for. I’ve always missed the ease of use of the WPS.

I can’t wait for Fedora Core 2 with Kernel 2.6 & GNOME 2.6.

2 thoughts on “OS/2's Workplace Shell resurrected in GNOME 2.6

Leave a Reply

