Fedora Core 2 and Firewire (IEEE1394)

After reinstalling Fedora Core 2, I updated it with the latest kernel

(2.6.6-1.435.2.3).

I was hoping it would autodetect my firewire card now that the fix was in. But upon reboot, nothing changed. I did several googles and then gave the following a try:

/sbin/modprobe ohci1394
/sbin/modprobe sbp2
/sbin/modprobe raw1394

This resulted in

Jul  5 14:20:41 machinename kernel: ohci1394: fw-host0: \
OHCI-1394 1.1 (PCI): IRQ=[10]  MMIO=[f1109000-f11097ff] \
Max Packet=[2048]

The firewire card is recognized now. Now I’m trying to attempt to mount my iPod. Every article I found on the net said it will be recognized as /dev/sda1 or /dev/sda2. My problem is that I already have a /dev/sda and /dev/sdb since I’ve got a SCSI system.

I’ll keep looking more this week on getting this to work. My ultimate goal is to get the an external Firewire/USB drive to work for backup purposes.

Leave a Reply

