Today I installed Fedora Core 6 on my IBM Thinkpad T41. The install went really well. The only mishap was the usual swapping of the onboard ethernet and the Cisco aironet card.

There are many cool new things in FC6. But my favorite are
as follows:

  • Printing dialog
  • Desktop effect

The printing dialog actually found the all the printers on my network both the ones on samba and the ones via cups. It was a refreshing change from previous versions. Kudos!

Then there’s the bling bling. I turned on the desktop background.

desktop background

You can use CTRL+ALT+ (left and right arrow) to scroll through the workspaces in a great 3D manner. It is surprisingly fast.

Checkout Fedora Core 6 Today!

One thought on “Fedora Core 6

  1. Just curious, I am a thinkpad user as well and was wondering if you were able to get the thinkpad scrolling to work? In FC5, I used to be able to hold down the 3rd (blue) button beneath the spacebar and could scroll using the trackpoint. Let me know if you know a fix for this.

Leave a Reply

