networking saga

After spending Sunday afternoon setting up a wireless access point I decided to resurrect my wired router (Linksys BEFSR41) and connect it to my wireless router (Linksys WRT54G). I used up all my ports on the wireless router and didn’t want to buy a hub. I tried a few months ago to get the wired router to work but to no avail. Turns out I was plugging the WAN port from the wired router to a numbered port on the wireless router. This works but creates two different networks. I wanted a single network.

The solution was to connect a numbered port from the wired router to a numbered port on the wireless router. You also need to disable DHCP on the wired router. That’s it. It works great, I now have 3 free ports.

One thought on “networking saga

  1. gee.. how many computers do you have that you need all those wired ports? Or are you stringing wires to phone jacks all over the house?

    I have been thinking about runing wires to all rooms. I was thinking about having a wired-only hub in the crawlspace and put the main router in a closet somewhere. For wireless, you almost need to have it placed in a room in the center of that house.

    Haven’t done any of this yet, but I am thinking about it.

    -todd

Leave a Reply

