IBM PS/2 Model 57SLC2 (with 77 system board)

My first computer was a Commodore 64 where I learned to write POKE and SPRITE from the manual. But it would still be a few years before I got into computers.

In my freshman year in college, I convinced my parents to buy me an IBM PS/2 Model 30. It was a 286 with 1MB ram, 20GB hard drive, and 3 ISA slots. I used that for a couple years, then gave upgraded it with a 386SX/NOW upgrade chip and maxed its memory so my brother could use it in college.

My junior year of college, I had saved up enough to buy the IBM PS/2 I had lusted for, a Model 57SLC2. This machine had kicked ass:

  • 8MB RAM
  • 486SLC/2 50MHz CPU
  • 212MB SCSI drive
  • 2.88MB floppy
  • Microchannel bus (no fighting with interrupts)

The PS/2 came pre-installed with OS/2 2.0. I later installed OS/2 Warp 3, then finally installed Red Hat Linux 6.1 with mca enabled in the kernel.

About 4 years ago, I upgraded the Model 57SLC2 with a system board of a Model 77i. This boosted me to:

  • 486DX4 100MHz CPU
  • IDE on board
  • S3 onboard video

How about some pictures of this baby (before it saw it’s demise in the Wake County recycling dump)?

Front:
IBM PS/2 77 front

Rear:
IBM PS/2 77 rear

Drives:
IBM PS/2 77 drives

Adapters:
IBM PS/2 77 adapters

2 thoughts on “IBM PS/2 Model 57SLC2 (with 77 system board)

Leave a Reply

