Since I first installed Fedora Core 6, the desktop effects would lock up my box within 30 minutes. The hang requires that I hit the reset button on the box as it doesn’t respond to the keyboard or mouse. After reboot, I usually only get about 5 minutes worth of usage before it hangs again. I’m thinking it might be heat related, but I find it odd that turning off desktop effects will yield HOURS of reliable use.

Since I really want the desktop effects to work I restarted my quest again. I installed beryl today to see if that was any better, thinking it might have been something wrong with compiz. But 30 minutes later, BOOM! It’s like clockwork.

I’ve searching through bug after bug looking for clues:

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/search.php?searchid=3464265
http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedora-package-announce/2007-February/msg00090.html
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/buglist.cgi?query_format=specific&order=relevance+desc&bug_status=__all__&product=&content=hang
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5449
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5781
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1280
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2362
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5986

My hardware:

  • ATI X300 (RV370 [Radeon X300SE])
  • AMD Athlon 64 CPU 3200+ (socket 939)
  • 1GB CORSAIR memory
  • MSI K8N Neo-F (MS-7125)
  • Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) 250GB SATA
  • LITE-ON 16x DVD burner
  • Fedora Core 6 x86_64

The machine is rock solid unless I use desktop effects 😦

My plan is as follows:

  • run yum update to make sure I get the latest set of FC6 updates
  • install compiz-debuginfo to see if that offers any more information
  • see if I can ssh into the box when it hangs
  • inspect .xsession-errors (Xorg.0.log doesn’t have anything, neither does /var/log/messages)
  • run the opengl screensavers to see if it’s a compiz/beryl thing or opengl in general

I’ll keep everyone posted on my progress.

6 thoughts on “desktop effects locks up my box

  1. I am having the exact same problem and so far I have been unsuccessful in finding a solution.

    I have found that I can SSH into the box and when I issue a TOP command nothing seems abnormal

    Are you using NetworkManager? I have found that if I repeatedly attempt to connect to various networks I can force the X session to hang. I am unable to issue any commands (mouse still moves though) and I must resort to rebooting the system via the power button.

    I have a Dell 600m with an x300 card.

    Have you found a solution?

  2. At least you guys are getting 30 mins i getting the hang within the first 2 mins :s

    i have a opteron 242 X2 and a 7900gt.

  3. Is there any update on this?
    When I first installed FC6 I had this issue – I can’t remember what I did to fix it – I’ve had my machine working normally for a year now and all of a sudden the box locks up or reboots randomly within the first 5-45 mins of use no matter what I try.

    When the box locks up I can not ssh into it from elsewhere – it’s completely frozen.
    I’m not using 64bit, beryl/compiz or any desktop effects that I know of.

    I start kde and I think I have to be using at least firefox or another program for this to happen. I have stuff in ~/.xsession-errors but it’s DCOP notifications and then X Error: BadMatch, BadPixmap and BadWindow errors that are foreign to me.
    If anyone has solved this please post! Thanks, Matt.

  4. Well – I did some more searching online and found a message board describing this problem – one of the suggestions was to add a kernel boot up parameter in grub.conf file of “acpi=off”. This seems to have worked for me as I have 48 hours uptime since and things are working normally again. Here is a link to the site: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/printthread.php?t=139648&pp=80

    ACPI is some spec for handling the information a BIOS uses for configuration and power interface(power management). I’m guessing that this is what KDE/X or my graphics card is having trouble with when it freezes/locks/hangs/etc. Hope this helps others out there.

Leave a Reply

