desktop effects locks up my box (part 2)

The list of packages installed on my machine valid as of March 06, 2007 at 11:18pm.

The .xsession-errors file shows some interesting bits:

(process:2789): GLib-WARNING **: GError set over the top of a previous GError or uninitialized memory.
This indicates a bug in someone's code. You must ensure an error is NULL before it's set.
The overwriting error message was: File not found
compiz: Failed to load slide: fedora-logo

(process:2789): GLib-WARNING **: GError set over the top of a previous GError or uninitialized memory.
This indicates a bug in someone's code. You must ensure an error is NULL before it's set.
The overwriting error message was: File not found
compiz: Failed to load slide: /usr/share/pixmaps/fedora-logo
compiz: water: GL_ARB_fragment_program is missing

At the time of the hang I was running (from the UI perspective):

  • firefox
  • bouncingcows
  • eclipse
  • gnome-terminal

I was able to ssh into the box after the hang. top showed the following bit of info:

VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
469m  111m 17m R 99.4 11.1   6:25.66 Xorg

while strace dumped out the following message 1021 times before I killed it:

--- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) @ 0 (0) ---
rt_sigreturn(0xe)                       = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
ioctl(7, 0x6444, 0)                     = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
--- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) @ 0 (0) ---
rt_sigreturn(0xe)                       = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
ioctl(7, 0x6444, 0)                     = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
ioctl(7, 0x6444, 0)                     = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
--- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) @ 0 (0) ---
rt_sigreturn(0xe)                       = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
ioctl(7, 0x6444, 0)                     = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
ioctl(7, 0x6444, 0)                     = -1 EBUSY (Device or resource busy)
2 thoughts on “desktop effects locks up my box (part 2)

  1. Hi Jesus,

    You know, I had the same trouble on my laptop, which also has an ATI video card. However, I didn’t ever get it to lock up on my desktop machine, which has an NVidia card and I’ve got the proprietary driver installed. I suspect the driver. I haven’t, yet, tried the proprietary ATI driver (if there is one).

  2. I have the same problem (since some time ago) with two PCs: one with a nVidia card and the other with an ATI card.
    When I installed FC6, compiz worked well (on each of my PCs). But some time ago I noticed that the upper face of the cube was empty (no image) and no image even displayed for the skydome.
    The error reported in my .xsession-errors file is the same you have reported.
    I tried to specify other png files but the problem persist. I tried with a svg file and the image was shown in the cube upper face but not in the skydome.
    Have you any idea/solution about that?

Leave a Reply

