Today the boys & I took the Rodriguez annual trip to the car show. I have attended a car show for the past 20 years. Thirteen of them were in Washington, DC, the last 7 were at the NC Auto Expo here in Raleigh, NC.


NC AutoExpo header

The NC Auto Expo has gotten better since the moved it to the NC State Fairgrounds which is much bigger than the old Raleigh Convention Center which had one measly floor of cars.

The boys had a BLAST running from car to car, truck to truck. It’s one of the few times they get to sit in the front of the cars, and opening and closing the doors is always a big treat for them (though scary for me).

Since I started taking the boys, I don’t get to get in the cars as much but I did manage to get in a select few, but the car I really wanted to see was the new Pontiac G8. Once again Pontiac disappoints with a small display of their lame vehicles.

Pontiac G8

I also saw my two favorite Mazda’s, the Mazda 3 and MazdaSpeed6. Sometimes I tell myself to get a Mazda 3 take the money saved and fix up the Trans Am. But I know I’ll probably never get around to it, so I think I should get a sporty fun car like the MazdaSpeed6.

Mazda MazdaSpeed6

But my favorite car of the day was a tie between two cars, the Infiniti G35 sedan and the Subaru Impreza WRX STI.

Infiniti G35 Sedan

The G35 had grown up + fun written all over it. It had a front and back seat that could hold the family, plus it was rear wheel drive with plenty of horsepower. The seats were leather and supportive, important features in a sports sedan. The G35 had an automatic with the paddles behind the steering wheel like an Indy car. I would probably get a manual as I’m old school and like to shift myself.

Subaru WRX STI

But the COOLEST car of them all was the Subaru WRX STI. It looked fast and fun. Though I’m not a fan of the blue plus gold rims, it still rocked. The boys loved this car. Checkout the STI’s engine:
Subaru WRX STI engine

That’s it for this years auto show, until next year.

Leave a Reply

