I swear I learn something new everyday. 🙂 I reinstalled Fedora Core 6 on my workstation today, and went to reinstall mugshot.

I downloaded the mugshot client, and attempted to install it:
sudo rpm -Uvh mugshot-1.1.40-1.fc6.x86_64.rpm
But it failed missing some dependencies:
error: Failed dependencies:
libloudmouth-1.so.0()(64bit) is needed by mugshot-1.1.40-1.fc6.x86_64
loudmouth >= 1.0.3-3 is needed by mugshot-1.1.40-1.fc6.x86_64

I quickly griped that I wish there was a yum repo with mugshot in it. !@#$%^
Then the light went on in my feable brain. I wonder if yum install path/to/rpm will work? Only one way to find out.
yum install ~/downloads/mugshot-1.1.40-1.fc6.x86_64.rpm
WOO HOO, I worked. Yum properly processed the dependencies and sucked them down from the my currently subscribed yum repos.

Dependencies Resolved

=============================================================================
 Package                 Arch       Version          Repository        Size
=============================================================================
Installing:
 mugshot                 x86_64     1.1.40-1.fc6     /home/devel/jesusr/ftp/mugshot-1.1.40-1.fc6.x86_64.rpm  811 k
Installing for dependencies:
 loudmouth               x86_64     1.0.5-2.fc6      extras             53 k

That was cool!

2 thoughts on “yum install …

Leave a Reply

