I was in San Antonio, TX on Friday. After some delays I finally made it to Atlanta at 11:13pm EDT. My connection was originally scheduled to leave for RDU at 10:30pm, but I got a voice mail from Orbitz stating it was now 11:30pm. I’m a little rushed now because I have 17 minutes to get off the plain and hoof it 2 terminals to try and catch my flight home. In some airports going from one terminal to another isn’t too bad, but in ATL, it’s not a trivial task to go from terminal C to A in 17 minutes.  I booked it across the airport, looking like OJ Simpson (pre murder), when I arrived at gate A4 breatheless and feeling like I was going to have a heart-attack (boy I really need to exercise and loose some weight), the flight had been delayed til 12:30am.  I was both relieved that I didn’t miss my connection and pissed of that the lady at the counter when I landed didn’t mention it was delayed! Again another prime example of “high quality” Delta customer service.

The flight continued to be delayed 3 more times the final time was 2:30am.  But apparently the crew made up some time and got to ATL at 1:55am. We finally took off at 3:00am and arrived at RDU at 4:15am. And just to make things interesting 2 people threw up on the plane.

On a good note, I met a lot of interesting people in the airport this trip. Like the family going to Puerto Rico for vacation with their daughter on her first flight. Like Mr. Mills who works for an investment firm and seems to be in legal trouble, and the divorced mother of two he talked to on the whole flight. Also, Jeanette an Air Force Airman who was returning to see her boyfriend in RDU from 30 days of training in Florida. During flight delays people band together to air their frustrations or share their stories of the day.

I finally got home in bed at 5:10am Saturday morning which was also my 36th birthday.

One thought on “Trip home from San Antonio

Leave a Reply

