My dad on “El Nuevo Dia” Puerto Rican newspaper

“El Nuevo Dia” interviewed my dad and his associates at their barber shop, the Washington Square Hair Salon on politics. All are staunch democrats and plan on voting for Hillary Clinton at Maryland’s primary on Tuesday. Being informed about politics and the importance of voting has always been one of the values my dad instilled in me. That is why today I find myself watching CNN for all of the primary races to see what is going on. The other thing I got from my dad is newspaper reading. While I get a lot of my news online now, I still find time to read the Sunday newspaper (and not just the comics and sports sections) :)

From left to right, the Boricuas Jesús Rodríguez (my dad), Ismael Rodríguez y José Morales, owners of the “Washington Square Hair Salon” barbershop in Washington, DC. Photo by Sandy Schaeffer.

4 responses to “My dad on “El Nuevo Dia” Puerto Rican newspaper

  1. I knew your father back in the old days. Please say hello to him. I see Ismael often and he keeps me up to date. Thanks….Lou Gatti

  2. Hello Jesus

    I was revisiting info on barbershops in DC and found your blog. My interest was triggered by a recent article in the Post regarding the Capitol Barbershop. In my search I found the old article regarding your dad and others.

    My dad was one of the first boricua barbers in DC: Salvador Rodriguez Serrano (QEPD 1916-1992). He was also Ismael’s uncle (yeah, I’m Ismael’s cousin). My dad owned the Pan American Barber Shop in the late 50′s through early 70′s at 1650 Columbia Road.

    Cheo and Rafi Rodriguez, both also barbers, are also my cousins (Tío Genaro’s kids). My dad served as a teacher to them and others from Barrio Jagueyes, Mariana,and Tejas who moved to DC between the mid-50′s to mid 70′s.

    Next time you speak with your dad or Ismael, tell them that I, José Luis (known back then as Papo el de Compai Salva), send them my regards.

    José Luis “Papo” Rodríguez
    “El Gran Puma”

Leave a Reply

