Not sure what it was but I felt like I had things to do today 🙂  I re-caulked the kitchen sink (twice), amazing what masking tape can do to make the job a lot easier.

I took a trip to Home Depot to buy a few things for my next project:

  • 50 feet of indoor/outdoor cat 5e cable
  • two cat 5e jacks

    cat 5e jack
    cat 5e jack
  • two f-connectors

    f-connector
    f-connector
  • two 4 port wall plates

    wallplate
    wallplate

I started the project, running ethernet to the living room where the TV  and Playstation 3 (PS3) are.  I got tired of the lag while streaming content to the PS3.  I installed a new 4 port jack in the bedroom where the cable comes into the house, it has a coax and an ethernet port, and two empty spots for ‘upgrading later’. I bought 50 feet of outdoor cat 5 cable and scoped out the path I plan to run it along. I also replaced the Linksys BEFSR41 router (being used as a switch) with a D-Link DGS-2208 8 port gigabit switch. The hard part is still left to do, the actual running  of the cable, crawling around in the dirty crawl space 🙂 and run it up next to the TV.

And finally, I booked the beach house for our summer vacation this year.

One thought on “Busy Saturday

  1. Sounds fun. Got the same problem with lag on my PS3 while streaming too, although I noticed a drastic improvement after I switched the wireless off channel 6 and 7. No cable run yet but I’ll might eventually.

Leave a Reply

