Evil Robot Conference (no robots allowed)

On Saturday, I attended the Evil Robot Conference held at Red Hat HQ.

I got there a bit late, but I caught the tail end of Clinton Ebadi’s talk on “UnCommon Web: A Common Lisp Tale of Continuations, Multimethods,
Metaclasses, and Web Applications”. While Lisp can be hard to understand, what you can do with it from a web programming perspective made Java webapps look quite lame considering the amount of code you have to write to make them do anything.

Had lunch at El Cerro with Kevin Smith, from Hypothetical Labs, and a few other folks attending the conference. A good time was had by all, and the salsa was quite spicy but oh so good today :)

After lunch, I sat through Dan DeMaggio’s “Anti-databases (NoSQL): Where they came from and where they’re going”. I learned a lot of alternatives to the old school single database setup. There’s a lot of cool stuff out there for this such as redis, Cassandra, couchdb, BigTable.

Dan’s talk was followed by Kevin’s “Intro to Erlang” which was most excellent as well. Kevin seemed very comfortable talking and definitely knows his stuff. Great job!

Last but not least, I got to hear what BRTFS was from Josef Bacik. Very cool stuff, most of the time I forget how much cool stuff goes into OS development compared to the webapps I do for a living.

All in all, it was a great day long conference. I hope we can make it at least a yearly event.

PS. Sorry I missed your talk Max :) and thanks for the donuts.

Leave a Reply

