<vent>
For the past 5 years I’ve had what I think is a bad ass cubicle which is more like shared office. The walls are at least 8 feet height with sliding doors with whiteboards on them. I loved this setup because when i want to get something done and isolate myself, I can simply slide the door closed. If I want to have a small pow-wow, I can invite folks into my cube and again slide the doors close. The cubes are not completely private as the walls do not reach to the ceiling, and you share it with another person: your cubie.

But for some reason, unbeknownst to me we are moving to shorter cubicles with no doors, no whiteboards, and conversation HELL. I am told by some that the purpose is to increase communication which I could probably believe if the entire team was co-located. But our team is geographically diverse and the folks that are co-located are not necessarily on the same team. So one groups chatter will affect another groups chatter. I just wish I could make sense of it all.

I guess I’m realizing in my old age that I dislike change, especially that which I did not initiate. Maybe if I tap my ruby red shoes, I can get back to Kansas🙂
</vent>

Somewhere, over the rainbow, way up high.
There’s a land that I heard of Once in a lullaby.
Somewhere, over the rainbow, skies are blue.
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true.
Someday I’ll wish upon a star and wake up where the clouds are far Behind me.
Where troubles melt like lemon drops, Away above the chimney tops.
That’s where you’ll find me.
Somewhere, over the rainbow, bluebirds fly. Birds fly over the rainbow,
Why then – oh, why can’t I?
If happy little bluebirds fly beyond the rainbow,
Why, oh, why can’t I?

Now time to go play some Call of Duty: World @ War to vent some more. Thanks for listening folks.🙂

2 thoughts on “I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore …

  1. I got used to having the shorter cube walls after a while. Decent headphones help a lot to get rid of the outside noise. It’s still nowhere near as nice as having the high cubicle walls, but it’s livable.

    I find the thought of software engineers without whiteboards in their cubes kind of mind-boggling, though.

  2. It could be worse. At a previous job where management went all “agile” crazy, they took away our cubes entirely and just gave us tables. I can’t tell you how many times we tripped over wires that had to be laid across the floor to read the walls to actually, ya know, plug in. And if one of us got sick, a single sneeze basically took out the whole team for a week.

    It gets worse. Management reprimanded my team for not having the “buzz” of chatter that’s supposed to arise from removing the cube walls and working in an agile environment. I never did figure out when they expected us to actually get work done amidst all that talking we were supposed to be doing.

Leave a Reply

