After doing agile development process for more than 6 months now, I’m not impressed. Maybe we’re doing it wrong, but it just feels like it’s process for the sake of process. I don’t care for the daily scrum statuses, the tasking is annoying because I’m used to doing a lot of the little things on a project that no one ever wants to add to a schedule but need to get done. With agile I don’t feel like I can do these because there are other tasks in the list that need to get done.

I prefer the old method of coming up with a list of features, specing and estimating them out, and moving forward. So what’s different than agile? Well it has no daily status meetings and listing things in special agile software. We can use a wiki with a list of features and move along with writing the code.

Thanks for listening, I feel better now🙂 </rant>

PS this is NOT an April Fool’s joke

2 thoughts on “not a fan of agile

  1. Hard to get right probably. If you feel your “special agile software” makes things harder, either you’re expecting it to do the thinking for you, or it’s just bad. Throw it away. Sometimes, more is less; a wiki, or text file can do as well; depending on the size of the team.

    I’m wondering why didn’t you like the scrum meetings. For our project, we decided that we’re too big for company-wide meetings to scale and I still miss them a lot. I mean, it greatly increased visibility into project, probably into areas which weren’t interesting enough for me to look into otherwise. Also, unexpected and valuable input from colleagues into my problems was spared me some trials and errors rather often.

  2. (A) Scrum is designed by consultants.

    (B) It’s designed to make software more like blue collar factory work, but with the team micromanaging itself. Just like open office floorplans, they want to keep you working all the time. It also has this incredibly flawed concept that everyone is equal and everyone can do all the work. Different people can/should own different things based on ability and interest.

    (C) My issue is it is so focused on pace and microestimating it starves thinking and planning. It seems less agile than old XP ideas where you could just rethink what you were doing all the time. Especially when you yourself can’t introduce new ideas without a lot of second guessing.

    (D) I see absolutely no benefits in the ability to schedule. I actually see less visibility. In many cases, it’s fuzzier.

    (E) Many folks that like it haven’t seen the old way (spec, engineering signoff, estimates, and reasonable deadline) work. Release slippage is not neccessarily evil either.

Leave a Reply

