I have a file server at home with two 250GB hard drives running in RAID1. It is meant for
storing my backups and acts as a DLNA server for my PlayStation 3.

Unfortunately, I fell into the same trap as most folks thought Bill Gates did, when I told myself that 250GB should be enough data for anyone.

Apparently backup data, music and pictures take up a lot of room as you can see from my /vol partition.

$ df -h
Filesystem    Type    Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vol1-lvvol
              ext3    226G  214G  641M 100% /vol

I figured it was time for an upgrade. I replaced motherboard, cpu, memory, and of course the drives. The old machine specs are as follows:

  • Pentium III 933MHz
  • 1 GB memory
  • two 40GB IDE hard drives RAID1 hosting /
  • two 250GB Seagate 7200.10 SATA drives RAID1 hosting /vol
  • megabit NIC

The new machine has TERABYTE drives🙂

  • AMD Sempron 140 2.7GHz
  • 2GB memory
  • one 80GB Western Digital SATA drive hosting /
  • three 1TB Samsung Spinpoint SATA drives RAID5 hosting /vol
  • gigabit NIC
  • It was fun to see T after the number for the /vol partition.

    # df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/vg1-lvroot
                           70G  2.8G   64G   5% /
    tmpfs                 878M  128K  878M   1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1             485M   28M  432M   7% /boot
    /dev/mapper/vg2-lvvol
                          1.8T  196M  1.7T   1% /vol
    

    Finally, the OS install experience. I wanted to use CentOS 5.5 for my new server. I start with the CD netinstall disk of CentOS, got to the point of writing to the partitions and the installer just died. I then went with the CentOS LiveCD and that didn’t even boot for me. Stumped, and not wanting to wait for CentOS to download stage2.img again (took 15 minutes), I decided to try the Fedora 13 netinstall CD. WIN!

    The Fedora 13 installation went flawlessly and extremely quick boot, and a very nice experience. Kudos to the Fedora team for an excellent installation experience.

    new server

    drive cage

One thought on “new server

Leave a Reply

