Fedora 13 *installed*

I finally got Fedora 13 installed after having some issues with my software RAID partition last night.

I have 3 250GB drives. Two of them were software raided in RAID 1 configuration holding /home. The third is where the OS lives. I ignored the error message anaconda presented me since I could still use /dev/sda which is where I wanted to install anyway.

I choose to Fresh Install from the menu, then Basic Storage Devices. I proceeded to choose the only hard drive that showed up, and said I’d create my own custom partition layout. This part probably wasn’t necessary but I wanted to make sure the partitions that existed were the ones on /dev/sda :)

Once the installation was done, I switched to runlevel 3 and logged in as root. This is what I did to recover my software RAID partitions to mount them as /home.

# mdadm --assemble --scan
# cat /prod/mdstat
Personalities : [raid1] 
md0 : active raid1 sdc1[1] sdb1[0]
      244195904 blocks [2/2] [UU]
      
unused devices: 
# mdadm --examine --scan >> /etc/mdadm.conf
# tail -n 1 /etc/mdadm.conf
ARRAY /dev/md0 UUID=93ea08fa:1a7ae881:f59ceb98:8b2b169f

So far so good. But df -h didn’t show my LVM partition from the RAID device.
lvscan showed it as inactive:

# lvscan
  ACTIVE            '/dev/vg0/lvswap' [3.00 GiB] inherit
  ACTIVE            '/dev/vg0/lvroot' [214.69 GiB] inherit
  inactive          '/dev/vg1/lvhome' [232.88 GiB] inherit

Ok simple need to change that.

# vgchange -ay
  2 logical volume(s) in volume group "vg0" now active
  1 logical volume(s) in volume group "vg1" now active
# lvscan
  ACTIVE            '/dev/vg0/lvswap' [3.00 GiB] inherit
  ACTIVE            '/dev/vg0/lvroot' [214.69 GiB] inherit
  ACTIVE            '/dev/vg1/lvhome' [232.88 GiB] inherit
# ls /dev/mapper/
control  vg0-lvroot  vg0-lvswap  vg1-lvhome

Last thing to do is get /etc/fstab updated:

/dev/mapper/vg1-lvhome  /home                   ext4    defaults        1 1

And for good measure, blow away the old user home dir from the install, and mount
the homedir:

# rm -rf /home/jmrodri
# mount /home
# df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg0-lvroot
                      212G  5.8G  195G   3% /
tmpfs                1005M     0 1005M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda2             190M   50M  131M  28% /boot
/dev/mapper/vg1-lvhome
                      230G   91G  128G  42% /home

Sweet back in business. Let’s reboot and make sure everything’s good.
Everything was good upon reboot except when logging in as jmrodri it couldn’t find my homedir. I checked the permissions and they were fine. What could it be? ponder. run series of commands. google. ponder some more. google. SELinux! The new /home had the wrong SELinux context.

# restorecon -R /home

There now we’re good.

Leave a Reply

