Since we’re selling our house, we kind of had to reorganize the network equipment. I had a place where I didn’t have a network port. I got the TRENDnet 200 Mbps Powerline Ethernet AV Adapter Kit TPL-303E2K.

They are SUPER FINICKY to install. Requiring a damn Windows utility to configure. I tried using the documentation and TRENDnet support site. None were helpful. But thanks to this Amazon shopper was able to get them configured. Click here for full comment.

Basically, if you followed the documentation you probably hit the RESET button. That means you will have to make them both local adapters and reset them using the utility.

In my experience, after the reset, neither unit could be recognized as the remote unit. What seemed to fix that was connecting each unit as the local, and using the privacy tab in the software to configure each to the local network. Perhaps the “factory default” network name is not the default software network name? I don’t know. But finally, the remote unit was again recognized. At that point, I had to use the password-within-seconds trick to get the remote unit recognized again. And at that point, things worked. Sheesh.

Once I did that, I was able to see the remote adapter. YAY! Entered the password. Not accepted. BOO! Back to the Amazon review, I saw that you have just a few seconds to enter the password.

I realized that the unit had only a few seconds in which the power light wasn’t blinking. So, I had the password entered in the software’s dialog box, and plugged the remote unit in, and hit enter to try the password ASAP. Finally! Password accepted. Once the password is accepted, you can pretty easily move the unit to other outlets

Had one of my kids go to the other room to unplug it and yell when they saw a light.🙂 Works great now. Printer has now been relocated to the bonus room. Thanks for Amazon reviews to help solve technical issues😀

Leave a Reply

