Thanks to jbowes for saving me time with git. I had a commit and wanted to find out what tag it was in. I tended to do the opposite, given a tag is this commit in it. And boy did I do it the hard way:

git checkout TAG
git checkout -b TAG # assuming there wasn't one already
tig # search for the commit in the list

That was cumbersome and a bit error prone. Now with a simple command I can find the tag more easily.

git describe --contains COMMIT_SHA

One thought on “what tag is this commit in?

Leave a Reply

