A couple of weeks ago, I finally updated my home server from Fedora 13 to CentOS 7. Fedora had the media support but I can’t keep the machine updated fast enough. This time I decided to go with another Red Hat derivative so I chose CentOS. The goal is to have an OS that has a longer release cycle. Most of the services I’m running haven’t changed in a while (considering Fedora 13 was ancient).

This was NOT an in place “upgrade”. Going to CentOS was a fresh install. I backed up all 70G of the root partition to an external drive then told CentOS to reformat the existing partitions. My biggest worry was the 2TB RAID 5 array. During the installation I told the installer to mount the array on /vol but DO NOT FORMAT. I checked it three times to make sure I didn’t lose anything. I did NOT backup the RAID array so this was the most dangerous part of the install I did.

Once installed the task of restoring the data back to the server, users, configuration, install needed software to support the services I had running on the machine, etc. Because Fedora 13 was so old, I couldn’t just rsync /etc.

First thing I had to do was change the UID and GUID of all the backup files since the default UID changed from 500 to 1000. I created the users, then I had to change the access to the backed up files and to the RAID array.

# owner
chown -R --from=500 1000 $1
chown -R --from=501 1001 $1
chown -R --from=502 1002 $1
chown -R --from=504 1004 $1
chown -R --from=505 1005 $1
chown -R --from=506 1006 $1
chown -R --from=507 1007 $1

# groups
chown -R --from=:500 :1000 $1
chown -R --from=:501 :1001 $1
chown -R --from=:502 :1002 $1
chown -R --from=:504 :1004 $1
chown -R --from=:505 :1005 $1
chown -R --from=:506 :1006 $1
chown -R --from=:507 :1007 $1

chown -R --from=481:466 992:989 $1

The firewall switched from iptables to FirewallD. So instead of restoring my /etc/sysconfig/iptables file I decided to figure out how to use FirewallD. I wrote a script for each of the iptables ports:

#...
firewall-cmd --permanent --add-service=http
firewall-cmd --permanent --add-port=PORT#/tcp
#...
firewall-cmd --reload

Most of the services were easy to get back running: http, vnc, and plexmediaserver. Some of the others were a bit tricky to get back up and running.

Streambaby had an error with the newer version of ffmpeg. It would fail with:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: net/sf/ffmpeg_java/v53/AVFormatLibrary …

Thankfully, this post had the suggested solution of simply adding the following to the streambaby.ini

com.unwiredappeal.tivo.vm.ffjava.FFmpegJavaVideoModule=false
ffmpegexe.transcode.sameqargs=-ab 192k

Other Streambaby & multimedia resources:

https://code.google.com/p/streambaby/wiki/StreamBabyIni
http://info.vortexbox.org/tiki-index.php?page=InstallStreamBaby
http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/MultimediaOnCentOS7

Next up was to revive the NFS shares.

The server also acts as a TimeMachine drive to backup our MacBook Pro. The old server used netatalk 2.x so the configuration files changed here too.

  • config files moved from /etc/atalk to /etc/netatalk
  • afpd.conf became afp.conf
  • afp conf is completely different

I basically followed the following sources:
http://netatalk.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Netatalk_3.1.7_SRPM_for_Fedora_and_CentOS
http://netatalk.sourceforge.net/3.1/htmldocs/configuration.html#idp139639181431264

The last service was to setup VirtualBox to run headless for my Windows 7 guest. See VirtualBox installation it wasn’t that difficult.

That’s was pretty much the only things I hit during the “upgrade”. It took a couple days to get everything up and running. I did it one service at a time.

One lesson I learned? Don’t wait so long to update your servers🙂

Leave a Reply

