Marco’s been super busy playing soccer with both his middle school team and his club soccer team. He’s not getting a lot of playing time on middle school during the conference games which he expected being one of the few 7th graders on a team full of 8th grade veterans. But his club soccer team hasn’t been playing him as often as he wanted despite working equally hard.

So to hopefully cheer him up and keep up his spirits I write him a poem, I guess you can call it a poem. At 5:40am I came up with this (I revised it a bit to add more).

Soccer Player by Jesus Rodriguez

When I’m on the bench, I do not feel fine.
I’m not a bench warmer, I’m putting in time.

When I play defense, I will be agile and fast.
When I play defense, nothing will get past.

When I play offense, I will not bore.
As the offense, I will shoot and score.

As the goalie, I will block all.
Because as the goalie, I am a brick wall.

Nothing will cause dismay.
Because soccer is what I play.

Leave a Reply

