Deal with git am failures

Today I needed to take my model git branch which was based off of the develop branch a week ago, and rebase it off of the master. First I did the obvious, git rebase master in my model branch, that yielded tons of conflicts. The conflicts were a result of commits in the develop branch being squashed when they got merged to master to keep the history clean. Instead of fixing tons of conflicts, I simply chose to take my 3 commits and create patches from them:

git format-patch -3 HEAD

I created a new branch off of master and applied my patches using git am.

git checkout master
git checkout -b model_updates
git am ~/0001-add-rhev-params-remove-serialized-hash.patch 
git am ~/0002-start-v21-of-deployments.patch
git am ~/0003-rename-columns-and-include-missing-columns.patch

Patch 0001 and ultimately 0003 applied without problems. Patch 0002 on the other hand gave me fits, I expected it, but I refused to recode the change. git am ... just fails when it hits a conflict. Using the trusty Google, I found this blog: Deal with git am failures. I followed the instructions from that blog post:

git am --abort #abort the previously failed 0002 patch run
git apply ~/0002-start-v21-of-deployments.patch --reject # yield .rej files I could inspect
git add server/app/controllers/fusor/api/v2/deployments_controller.rb # ensure changes are fine
git add server/app/controllers/fusor/api/v21/ # new files from patch
git am --resolved # tells git we're good to go, proceed.

Done! Way easier than dealing with the conflicts from the rebase. Easier than trying to recode the patch as well.

One thought on “Deal with git am failures

Leave a comment